Download Documents (pdf)
Holcombe Parish Cemetery is behind the beautiful old St. Andrew's Church BA3 5ES (Church of England), located at the end of a narrow lane, about a mile along Charlton Road from the lych Gate.
The cemetery is managed and operated by Holcombe Parish Council in accordance with the Local Authorities Cemeteries Order 1977, as amended by the Local Authorities (Amendment) Order 1986 and other such regulations as may be made by the Secretary of State for the Home Office.
The cemetery is nestled behind the Grade 2 listed Norman church which may have been a private oratory or small chapel adjacent to an earlier manor, probably built on the site of a previous Saxon building. The old church graveyard contains several listed graves, of which one commemorates the family of the Antarctic Explorer Robert Falcon Scott, whose father was the last manager of Holcombe's brewery. It also a contains a yew tree that is thought to be about 1500 years old.
The new St. Andrew's Church BA3 5FR (Church of England) is the Anglian parish church for Holcombe. It is in regular use and was consecrated on 18 July 1885 by the Bishop of Bath and Wells. The Associate Priest is Revd. Clarissa Cridland, who is 'shared' with the adjoining parish of Coleford and Kilmersdon.
In the majority of instances, those making arrangements for the burial of a loved one will do so through the services of a professional Funeral Director. The Parish Council will be pleased to answer any enquiries regarding interment at Holcombe Parish Cemetery.
All enquiries should be addressed to The Parish Clerk.